Archbishop Mitty Returns to Defend Their Title as Three Teams Make Boras Baseball Classic Northern Section Debut in 2020

 October 3, 2019—The Boras Foundation today announced the 16 teams competing in the 2020 Northern Section of the Boras Baseball Classic. Host, Oak Ridge High School welcomes three new teams to the Classic held April 6-9, 2020 at the newly developed Army Depot Park in Sacramento, CA.

“Each new year brings with it a new set of competitors who make sacrifices and train year-round to become the best-of-the-best, these are the athletes who show up to compete and this year is no exception. The Classic features top talent from the State to crown the best in the West.”

                                    — Scott Boras, Director of the Boras Family Foundation

The 2020 Northern California Classic is host to:

  • Over 30 Division l College Commitments
  • CIF Champions in newcomer Mountain View
  • 8 Perfect Game Top 250
  • 10 Area Code Games and Area Code Games Underclassman players
  • 10 Nationally Ranked Players
  • Over 150 MLB Draftees

Newcomers College Park join, along with 2019 Tri-City League Champions Lodi, returning most of their team. CIF Central Coast Division l Champions, Mountain View round out the teams making their debut this Spring.

Defending Northern Section Champions, Archbishop Mitty return to the Classic with #86 ranked infielder Nick Yorke (Arizona), Cardinal Newman return two Division l players in Carson Crawford (RHP, Cal) and Shane Moran (OF, Long Beach State).

The Classic welcomes back Clovis West and St. Francis with #62 ranked Petey Halpin (OF, uncommitted). Franklinwith top ranked Chase Davis (OF, Arizona) and Andrew Galan (RHP, Cal) return, along with 2019 NCS/Les Schwab Tires Division 1 Runner-Up Heritage High School.

Acalanes returns to the Classic after a 23-3 season with four Division l commits including 47th ranked outfielder Diego Diaz, 2019 Southwest Yosemite League Champions Liberty brings the likes of 93rd ranked Cutter Coffey (SS, Arizona).

With a 19-win season for the 12th year, St. Mary’s makes a return to the Boras Classic. In addition, Petaluma from the Vine Valley League returns with a strong offensive presence. Granite Bay and 10-time League Champions Casa Grande round out the 2020 field.

Host, Oak Ridge showcases two returning senior San Diego State commits Tino Bethancourt (SS) and Nathan Hansen (RHP).

The 16 high school teams participating in the Classic are guaranteed a minimum of four games with the championship game slated for April 9, 2020 at 7 p.m. at Army Depot Park in Sacramento.