Boras Classic State Champions Return to Defend Their Title

The #9 ranked team in the state and home to over 20 MLB alumni return to defend their Boras Baseball Classic State Title

Newport Beach, CA, December 11, 2018—The Boras Foundation today announced the 16 teams competing in the 2019 Boras Baseball Classic Northern Section.  

The Boras Classic will feature 32-elite teams from California to name a de-facto State Championship team. Games begin April 15, 2019 with host school Oak Ridge. 

“It’s great to return to my hometown to watch all the talent in the North,” said Scott Boras, Director of The Boras Family Foundation. “With the addition of three new teams and strong returners we are proud to provide a platform for the best players in the state to showcase their skill set to further their education and baseball careers.”

The 2019 Classic is host to:

    • Reigning Boras Classic champions Bellarmine Prep in the North and JSerra Catholic in the South
    • 18 League Championship teams in 2018
    • Six nationally ranked teams in 2018
    • Over 110 Division 1 commits

Winning over 20 games for three consecutive season and 2018 Boras Classic State Champions, Bellarmine College Prep returns to defend their Title. 

The Northern section also brings three new teams to the Classic including 2018 D2 CIF-CCS semi-finalist Archbishop Mitty High School, Frontier High School and Homestead all join the ranks of the elite hopefuls.  

Cardinal Newman returns for their second appearance at the Classic with two D1 commits in Sean Flowers (RHP, Nevada) and Carson Crawford (SS, Cal Berkeley).  Back-to-back North Bay League champions Casa Grande return along with Davis, Granite Bay and Heritage High Schools.

Delta League Champions Franklin High School rejoin the Classic with #3 ranked outfielder Chase Davis (Arizona). Petaluma, Pleasant Valley, St. Mary’s and Tracy all return after league championship Title seasons with Serra High School, home to 11 MLB players and seven-time MVP Barry Bonds.        

Host, Oak Ridge High School, returns as back-to-back-to-back Sierra Foothill League champions with three D1 commits in Peter Hansen (LHP, Texas), Jackson Slaughter (C, LSU) and Tino Bethancourt (SS, SDSU). 

The 16 high school teams participating in the Classic are guaranteed a minimum of four games with the championship game slated for April 18, at 7 p.m. at McAuliffe Memorial Ballpark in Sacramento. 

View complete team previews on the all new Boras Baseball Classic website.